REPERCUSSIONS OF HOLDING TOO TIGHT- LESSON SERIES

Greetings

Hello Leafers!! How are you?

I know you are wondering what has been happening with me and why I keep taking breaks, I took this particular break because I needed to focus on preparing for my exams.

I’m thankful that is over! Today, we will be discussing the repercussions of holding on to things or people too tightly.

Background

As you know I reflect a lot. I am also a sucker for discussing issues and ideas and looking at things from different perspectives.

I was reflecting some time ago, on how dangerous or counterproductive it is to be overly protective of people or things. Coincidentally, I listened to a homily around that time and it was on the same thing. So I’m here to share my thoughts or lessons on it.

Please Note: In writing this piece, I struggled to remember the exact words to describe my message but I hope you understand.

The Gist

In recent times, I have been shown how futile it is to hold tightly to something(s) we want. I have also come to understand that it’s often human nature to cling to things and people we cherish. It’s like our default reaction is to squeeze and keep close, to hold very firmly. The more precious, the tighter the grip. It is our way of making sure they do not disappear or that nothing (bad) happens to them.

I believe what we do by holding too tightly is the same thing we are trying so hard to avoid; we push away, we damage. It’s as though the opposite reaction takes place; the object looks for a tiny way to escape and then runs with full speed.

Let me give a pictorial example:

If you hold grains too tightly, what happens? It escapes. If you squeeze an egg, it will break. Children of overprotective parents will tell you the stories of their escapades and we know if their parents ever hear of them, their mouths will remain open for a while. These children often struggle with going back home to visit after independence or maturity. Relationships where one of the partners is too clingy, the other partner feels so choked and wants to get a break or to leave at all means

In short, the reverse is the case when we hold too tightly. We do it to avoid something but the specific act attracts the same thing we are trying so hard to avoid. It’s funny but it’s true.

This is not to say we should not guard what we cherish. Holding firmly is great, the extreme is the problem.

So what do you think? What are your thoughts? Has this ever happened to you before? Let me read all about it in the comment section!

A. O. B.

If you would like to be my pen pal, you can drop your email in the comment section. For privacy concerns, your comment with the email would not seen by the public, I will make sure it does not.

Until Next Time,

It’s Sweetbitterleaf 🥳

4 responses to “REPERCUSSIONS OF HOLDING TOO TIGHT- LESSON SERIES”

  1. Wendy Avatar

    You speak facts actually. Being overprotective or too attached to something or someone can become toxic. There has to be a balance

    Liked by 1 person

    1. sweetbitterleaf Avatar

      Yesss! Thank you Wendy!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. omamedia Avatar

    So, what would suggest as the way forward ,what would be your advise… To live like a bird set free?

    Like

    1. sweetbitterleaf Avatar

      My advice is to hold firmly not tightly. My advice is to allow a person be, but not be so far away. Its important for there to be trust and balance.

      Like

Leave a comment

I’m Germaine

Welcome to Sweetbitterleaf, my cozy corner of the internet dedicated to lessons and life experiences I like to share. Here, I invite you to join me on a journey of creativity, stories, lessons and all the many experiences I enjoy writing about! Enjoy!

Let’s connect